A Confession…

I have a confession to make.

I am a terrible materialist. There, I said it. I really can’t help it.

This realization didn’t actually strike me when all the glossy ads for toys, perfumes, jewelry and other fancy whatnots started popping up all over the place. Honestly, they don’t appeal to me at all – besides: I can never tell just what product is advertised by several semi-naked people giving me a possibly sexy/mysterious/earnest look. (You tell me. Please?) It wasn’t the beginning of the holiday season that got me. It was the beginning of a season, though – winter.

Here’s what happened: I’ve been digging up favorite scarves and sweaters from the depths of my closet (since it’s winter officially – whatever objections the actual weather might have to the meteorology here). Rummaging through all the wool and the occasional tassel, I found myself having sentimental feelings for the one or other… piece of clothing.

Okay. Possibly, it started even earlier than this: My favorite pair of jeans has been showing (severe) signs of weakness around the knees – which in turn has triggered me displaying severe signs of distress all in all. I hate parting with my favorite pair of jeans because first, I hate jeans shopping. I never find a pair that fits when I’m really in need of one – because semi-naked is never an option for me (I never advertise for anything anyway). Second, I grow sisterhood-of-the-traveling-pants-attached to my jeans. That is SUPER-attached. I wear them until they – quite literally – fall apart. Which is always somewhat awkward when the falling apart happens in public, but oh well: we all get our 15 minutes of fame, right Andy?

But back to the wool and tassels: I don’t have sentimental feelings for each piece of clothing I own. I don’t name them (yet). It’s that some pieces remind me of a person. Or of the place I got them at. Or the time when I bought them. (They’re little time-machines.) It’s that wearing that one sweater, that one scarf or my favorite jeans is like flipping through the pages of a diary. Which, for me, is awfully convenient because I’m terribly inconsistent when it comes to actually writing a diary. (This blog is probably the closest I have ever gotten and will ever get to it.)

So strictly speaking, I’m a memorabiliaist. Or possibly a mnemonicist. There, I said it. I still  can’t help it.

PS: 

2 responses

  1. I keep forgetting how much we actually have in common! But maybe that’s a good thing, or else it’d be even more annoying that we don’t live in the same city.

    Tip: Wear pretty coloured tights underneath the tattered jeans until you find a nice new pair. (Then go make some memories in them!)

    Another thing apart from clothes and such that’s very connected to memories for me is music. I’ll read a sad passage in a book and listen to a not-particularly-sad song and suddenly, every time I hear that song, it makes me sad all over again.

  2. hahah it’s ok to be a memoribiliaist 🙂 Have a great year ahead and thank you for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

Drunk In A Midnight Choir

We have tried in our way to be free.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Uplift & Inspire

U&I Magazine

King of States!

I'm Michelle. This is my blog. I write about women and fatness, expound upon semi-coherent thoughts I have in the middle of the night, and offer tough love to those in whom I am disappointed; they are legion.

Once Upon a Chai

Mumbai to Melbourne & the skies in between

Peak Perspective

Trying to climb out of the fog.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

Such Small Hands

Searching for Purpose and Finding Grace

Lucy’s Football

Author, digital editor, copyeditor

Quarter-Life Comeback

Making the most of my 25th year

