Aspen Season.

Aspen season

I)

00:18: It’s over –

the rain stopped, finally.

The night’s gotten too cold,

she shivers (it must be

aspen season already).

She shakes

off water drops that

have collected beneath

the folds of her

many, many eyes.

The water drips down and

she breathes a sigh of

relief – a night breeze,

soft and sweet and a little bitter.

I think, it’s really over.

II)

00:19: Clang –

broken glass or

porcelain, maybe?

No, it was the moon.

She fell off the sky.

She fell to pieces:

how beautifully they glimmer

as they drift in

a tiny puddle of dirt –

what an odd wishing well.

I light a cigarette

and make a wish.

III)

00:20: Smoke fills the kitchen –

I don’t open a window.

I just don’t know how

to let go of things.

I let it fill the empty space

he left behind (along

with an empty promise:

see-through and

revenant like a ghost or

maybe just a nightmare);

all the emptiness

seeping out

of the walls, the sockets,

blue and quiet

like electricity.

IV)

00:21: Clang

louder this time, almost violent.

I feel a breath

in my neck, a cough:

sour and stale.

I blink, splinters in my

shivering hands (it must be

aspen season already):

Your promise – it lies in pieces and

finally, I can even see it:

Tiny holes in the dark like

fresh cuts that won’t stop bleeding.


Leave a Reply

Drunk In A Midnight Choir

We have tried in our way to be free.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Uplift & Inspire

U&I Magazine

King of States!

I'm Michelle. This is my blog. I write about women and fatness, expound upon semi-coherent thoughts I have in the middle of the night, and offer tough love to those in whom I am disappointed; they are legion.

Peak Perspective

Trying to climb out of the fog.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

Such Small Hands

Searching for Purpose and Finding Grace

Lucy’s Football

Author, digital editor, copyeditor

Quarter-Life Comeback

Making the most of my 25th year

