Cherish the moment – on German-American relations. Or something.

The past two weeks haven’t been much different from most of my weeks this year.

There have been many good things: I spent time with a lot of great human beings, I listened to some good music, ate delicious food, I sat in the sun – I even had time to read one or two inspiring lines most days.

Of course, there have been a couple bad things as well: a heart attack, miscommunication and arguing, the usual fight with ghosts (sometimes they just surprise you with their great left hook), every-day trifles that stress you out like the water heater leaking all of a sudden.

Life is what it is: a mix of good and bad moments – dark and light, like a marble cake (and who doesn’t love a nice piece of marble cake? Who doesn’t love cake, really? That’s what I thought). So I’ve decided to cherish all the moments. Moments like these, for example …

Deep, I know. I didn’t come up with this myself, obviously; it was one of the inspiring lines I’ve read lately. Here’s the entire quote:

Cherish all your moments.

Embrace the beauty and

The importance of each one.”

~ Melody Beattie

 

I’ve decided to make this my philosophy (as much as possible) – which brings me to one very important, very cherishable moment in terms of German-American relations, at least for me. Don’t be afraid: I’m not talking politics. I’m talking – who’d have thought – sports (yes, I’m a sports fan, who knew, right?).

It’s NFL draft season and I’m proud to report the Indianapolis Colts drafted a fellow countryman of mine: Björn (you know it’s German when there’s an umlaut) Werner (my last name too! Maybe we’re even related!?).  That means now there are TWO Germans on the NFL (the other one being the Patriots’ Sebastian Vollmer, of course) and I am SO EXCITED (that’s right, capital-letter-excited!).

Ok, he's not that photogenic.

Ok, he’s not that photogenic.

Hold your horses, though, and don’t get out the case of (German) beer and party hats just yet – there’s more news. German-American baseball player Donald Lutz (who’s already on the German national baseball team … yes, there is such a thing) made his MLB debut with the Cincinnati Reds last week – and he isn’t doing too badly. Okay, now get out the Augustiner, folks.

Cheers and Prost!

Cheers and Prost!

Of course, you may ask yourself: why is this German chick so excited about all of this? Well, it’s very simple: I’d prefer a football/baseball game over a soccer match any day. Because even a boring football/baseball game is more exciting than most of the soccer matches I’ve seen lately. Besides, the outfits are better, too.

More to the point, though: there’s a lot of diving and whining and blaming the referee for everything that went wrong for your team in the end (although that may be a problem with all kinds of sports). To be fair: I’m talking German soccer. UK soccer, for example, is still a different thing – but that’s not going to change my mind, either.

So that’s that. Call me crazy or call me maybe, I don’t care. I’m just going to cherish this moment – I’ll enjoy the baseball season while it lasts and I can’t wait for the football season to start. I’m so excited, I’ll even care a minute which one of the German soccer teams is going win the Champions League in a couple of weeks (Go, Dortmund!).  

Hell yeah.

4 responses

  1. An Aussie got drafted to the NFL too I think. An indigenous Australian for the first time. Awesome news and of course we should be proud of them 🙂 You should check out some AFL Aussie Rules football if you’re into the outfits 😉

    1. Okay, I just googled this – how come this great sport (aka these fantastic outfits) just existed outside my radar for so long? I’m definitely gonna change that, seems to be worth it 😉

      1. Ha! You’re hilarious. I love you!
        Just so you know you barrack for Essendon 🙂 We’re the red and black team. Hope you are well.

      2. Essendon it is (… obviously, I just googled the team)! 🙂 Hope you’re well too and thanks for the love – right back at you!

Leave a Reply

Drunk In A Midnight Choir

We have tried in our way to be free.

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Uplift & Inspire

U&I Magazine

King of States!

I'm Michelle. This is my blog. I write about women and fatness, expound upon semi-coherent thoughts I have in the middle of the night, and offer tough love to those in whom I am disappointed; they are legion.

Peak Perspective

Trying to climb out of the fog.

Infinitefreetime.com

The website of Luther M. Siler, Author/Editor/Curmudgeon

Such Small Hands

Searching for Purpose and Finding Grace

Lucy’s Football

Author, digital editor, copyeditor

Quarter-Life Comeback

Making the most of my 25th year

